Butterfly Nation

There’s definitely been a change in wanting to learn and do new things since I reached the half-century mark several years ago.  I continually look for the next “what’s next” to push me out of my comfort zone.

Women on Fire Book I

Women on Fire
Book I

Last December I submitted a “what’s next”, out-of-my-comfort-zone-proposal.  Women on Fire was accepting proposals for chapter authors for its second Women of Fire book – a collection of real stories designed to provide inspiration, strategies and support for women.  I waited until the very last minute to submit my proposal.  I was unsure about sharing my story in such a public forum.

News regarding the status of my proposal arrived via email the second week in January.  I didn’t see the email until nearly midnight as I had attended an out-of-town work event.  While perched on the side of my bathtub, contemplating whether or not to take my make-up off or just go to bed, I did a quick scan of email.  There it was.  My out-of-my-comfort-zone-proposal had been accepted!  A late night punch in the gut of excitement, fear, anxiousness, nervousness and, oh dear, what have I done?

Since  January I’ve experienced lots and lots of nervousness and excitement throughout the writing process.  My chapter – “Voice Lessons” (about finding my voice later in life) – has been through multiple rounds of edits.  I’ve fretted over certain words and then delighted in landing upon one that felt just perfect.  At times I wanted to throw my hands-up and forget about the entire project and move on.

I am happy to report that my chapter is complete.  However, I continue to have the same case of butterflies that I caught that night while perched on the side of my tub.

En route to NYC

En route to NYC

So, here I am, on a plane headed for NYC (need to work on my #selfies) to meet the twenty other chapter authors as we begin preparing for the Women on Fire Book II launch later this summer.  I don’t know what tomorrow will hold – I’m nervous and excited – it’s an extreme case of butterflies now.

Sitting here though, it dawns on me, that like a butterfly our lives are a series of metamorphoses.  As we change and grow we just keep getting better.  So rise up Butterfly Nation and help us be brilliant as we each write and experience new chapters in our lives.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debbie
    Apr 18, 2013 @ 19:52:01

    Thank you for your courage to rise up! Your chapter is incredibly inspiring and I am so honored and proud you are a co-author in our second Women on Fire book.

    Like

    Reply

    • Linda R Neff
      Apr 18, 2013 @ 20:10:22

      Your words mean so much to be Debbie. Thank you for your vision of the first and now second Women on Fire book. Sharing our stories with one another definitely allows for continual growth and learning.

      Like

      Reply

  2. kay
    Apr 18, 2013 @ 20:15:42

    I love all the excitement that comes with writing a new life chapter and taking on its challenges. LIfe is meant to be an adventure. Clearly you’re embracing it and walking confidently out of your comfort zone. Go, girl! What a great example for Helen! I can’t wait to hear about your New York trip one of these days.

    Like

    Reply

    • Linda R Neff
      Apr 18, 2013 @ 20:21:34

      Yes, you definitely got the memo on this early in life Kay – your boundless creative energy is inspiring. So looking forward to getting caught up at our photo session with Miss Helen if not sooner!

      Like

      Reply

  3. Pat
    Apr 19, 2013 @ 01:01:19

    First of all, you are not several years over 50. Second, no need for butterflies-you already rocked your chapter! I know you will enjoy & flourish from this trip. Get me ordering info-I need to buy several copies.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

