Two left feet

On New Year’s Eve I did something to take care of me that I’ve never done before – I had my first colonoscopy!

Upon arriving for the procedure the nurse handed me a gown, a robe and a pair of grippy socks. I pulled the grippy socks out of the package. The first one had a big “L” on the bottom. I instinctively placed it on my left foot. I pulled the second sock out fully expecting to see a large “R” on the bottom. Instead there was another big “L.”

Two "left" feet

Two “left” feet

So conditioned am I to think about feet as being left and right – not one shape fits both – that for a brief moment I thought there had been a packaging mistake at the grippy sock factory. Of course, the “L” indicated the size, not a prescription for which sock belonged on what foot.

Patterns, pairs and procedures are necessary and helpful. They create an ease and comfort to move about in life. They help us save time. Indeed their wonderfully prescriptive nature can make life a whole lot easier – like wearing a right shoe and a left shoe.

As you start your week, what would happen if you approached your work and your relationships with two left feet? What would feel different? How would things look different with two left feet? How would you approach tasks differently? Where might you stumble? Where might you excel? Best yet, what might you discover and learn?

I’m starting the week out on the left foot.  I hope you’ll join me.  Let the adventure begin!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. garyhollander
    Jan 12, 2015 @ 06:03:06

    New Year’s Eve coloscopy? You certainly know how to party!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Debbie Phillips
    Jan 12, 2015 @ 14:04:33

    lol! Very cute. Good for you getting your colonoscopy!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

