Undeserving

Today I experienced my second martial arts lesson. When everyone was turning right, I was turning left. When everyone was facing forward I was invariably facing backwards. When you were to have landed on your right foot I was on my left. And so it went for a full sixty minutes of martial arts disasternous.

At the end of class the instructor attached two half colored stripes to the white belt I was wearing to indicate progress. As he was placing the progress stripes onto the belt I could barely look at him. It was so clear to me that my efforts were not deserving.

And then, almost like one of those ear buds that reporters wear to hear their producers, my inner voice of reason was in my ear and my head. She, not so patiently pointed out, that the instructor had been doing this for most of his life – “you have not.” She also noted that sans any martial arts qualifications or experience I had no business telling the instructor how to do his job including who and who not to award progress stripes to.

FullSizeRender-41Deciding to look the instructor in the eye, I shared, “This isn’t easy. It’s frustrating making so many mistakes.”

Looking back he said, “Ahhh, it is through our mistakes we learn. Keep making mistakes and you will learn.”

Today’s martial arts disasternous reminded me to:

  • respect those that have skills and knowledge that are different than mine – there is much to be learned
  • respect myself and my mistakes – there is much to be learned
  • practice – a lot, as in a whole, whole lot and then a little bit more before next Saturday – there is much to be learned!
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lemonlime7421
    Feb 03, 2015 @ 04:34:14

    I absolutely loved what you wrote!! As a person with a diverse background, i know the spirit of the first beginning. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

