Zesty, pesky, zealousness

2338032309_2d8a1f3c82Bringing zealousness to your own work, your own art, is beyond fabulous. It’s your own low-cost, high-octane energy fueling you and your idea forward.

Lending zealous support to someone else’s idea is also beyond fabulous. Your support can help re-ignite another’s passion. It can serve as a welcome “you’ve got this kick-in-the-pants” when energy reserves are running low.

I was reminded today that zealousness for someone else’s work, definitely needs to be confined to the area of support. Once well-intentioned zealousness crosses over into the, “I’ve got this – Get out of the way – I know how to do your job better than you do” area, it serves no one well.

Crossing over into this area is the ultimate, grand “sprinkle-over” – a technique established by four-legged dog friends and perfected by two-legged human friends.

Keep your perfectly, perfect zealous energy focused on all the best areas – areas that move yourself forward while honoring and supporting the work of others!

 

 

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/11121568@N06/2338032309″>Joy</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gary Hollander
    Feb 25, 2015 @ 05:48:53

    I love your use of the word ‘zealous’ in this post, Linda. I sometime use the word ‘urgent’ or ‘urgency,’ too. I ask myself then why if am feeling urgent or reacting urgently about something. If I don’t put my hand in someone else’s pot, will the stew turn poisonous? If not, it might be better to let that cook attend to his own work.

    But, as I re-read your post, I also wondered if we increasingly fear cooperative action. Have we set up our friendships, partnerships, clubs, workplaces to feel isolated in public view? Have we inadvertently asserted that my work is mine, yours is yours, and there is no ours? I suspect the way to challenge this is NOT to be zealous about someone else’s creating, but rather to invite them to be energized in mine. I think I am going to use your post to increasingly say, “I need a hand” or “What do you think” or “If this were your project, how would you edit it?”

    Like

    Reply

    • Linda R Neff
      Feb 25, 2015 @ 23:54:26

      Gary, your responses are always so thoughtful – thank you. They also always get me to think a little harder.

      The impetus for this post was actually in what you capture in your first paragraph. I became so overly excited about an idea and how I could be “helpful” that I just dug in rather than asking if my “great idea” was actually a help, a hindrance or poison in the stew.

      I too am going to begin being more intentional about inviting others in. I do believe our ideas become better, stronger and more interesting when we invite others to participate. Excellent reminder Gary – thank you!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

